And a bit more…

The view is still spectacular but the leaves are scorched on many trees and bushes. They've changed from brown to reddish-brown since last week.

After 12 hours of sleep, things are looking more clear to me now!  The view from the verandah is still wonderful, despite the salt-sprayed, scorched vegetation below.  Some trees faired pretty well and others are stripped clean.  It almost looks like fall back home with the reddish tints to the dead leaves.

Darin & I hit the road early and stopped by some GeoCaches that needed to be moved.  We always meet friendly people along the way.  This morning we met a man from the local florist who was on the Railway Trail cutting and snipping various leaves for a floral arrangement!  Ferns and tropical leaves that we would pay a fortune for are free for the picking on every corner.  He knew what he was doing though and crept through the bushes finding the exact number of leaves of each species to make his floral design perfectly Bermudian.   I wish I could show you all the plants that grow wild here…like a weed…but, that we consider a valuable plant!

Sing it with me: "This train is bound for glory, this train..."

I always enjoy a good walk on the Railway Trail.  We only walked a mile over and a mile back but it was a great morning with a cool breeze.  From there we headed out to South Shore to do a bit more GeoCaching (Darin’s plan) but also check on the progress since Hurricane Igor left (my plan).

Astwood Cove has stunning views...with or without Igor.

The stairs down to Elbow Beach have been fixed, with large amounts of sand brought in to meet the bottom stair.

The rock debris at Watch Hill Park dotted the grass. The views are spectacular.

We went as far as John Smith’s Bay, which had so much damage to all the asphalt in the parking lot.   This was the only place that Darin’s previous GeoCache container was missing, probably swept away in the hurricane-force winds.  But, I am amazed at the initiative of the Bermuda people.  They have clipped, chopped, sawed, raked, plowed and swept up so much debris so quickly.  Most gardens have already been plowed and some have already been replanted.

This large garden has been plowed for a new harvest...which seems to teach us something. When adversity comes plow deep, plant diligently and wait for the next harvest.

Sometimes you just get crabby living on the rocks!

I don’t mean to beat this to death, but do you know how easy it is to walk into a restaurant when it’s just TWO people…order, sit at any table, have a conversation and then leave…for under $30.00??  Wow…this childless thing has it’s advantages!

Anyone knows that an ant can't move a rubber tree plant...but, he's got high hopes...yes, he's got high hopes...he's got high apple pie in the sky hopes!

Aunt Kate’s funeral was at the Amis Funeral Home.  It was good to see our family and friends.  The burial was at St. Paul’s Cemetery in Paget, where Nannie and Grandpa are buried.  Darin was a pallbearer along with Craig and Anthony.  He will attest that it was no easy job considering the terrain and the weight.  Unlike at home, they also have to lower the casket down in the deep vault.

The Pallbearers carry the casket.

The casket is lowered into the vault.

The church yard is beautiful with all the crisp, white vault lids and landscaped hillside. The family mingled after the final words.

On a lighter note….a little story about Darin:

Darin is of the mindset that you can pack for any trip in 5 minutes…and it annoys him that I take so long.  So, on this trip, Darin just wanted to bring carry-ons, which was fine.  So, he had a small duffel and jammed some stuff in his bag and off we went.

In Bermuda, at funerals they will notify you in the obituary whether you are allowed to “wear colors” or not.  Out of tradition, I usually wear black and white just to play it safe.

On our way out the door Wednesday morning, I noticed Darin’s dress shoe was on the floor by the bed.  I said, “Do you have your dress shoes for the funeral?”.  He replied, “I can’t find my other brown shoe so I’m taking my black ones”.

I’m thinking, “Well, black shoes with brown pants is better than flip-flops!”.

Darin goes to get dressed today and I see a red polo on the bed next to his trousers.  I’m thinking “WOW…that’s COLOR!”.  Darin came around the corner and said, “I can’t find my white shirt.  I had it right on my bag.”.  Oh boy…my handsome pallbearer in Oklahoma red!

So, while I’m trying to reconcile the red issues, he also announces he only has one dress sock.  The good news is he found one white sock…a low-cut sports sock, but it is at least a sock!   Oh boy, oh boy…my handsome pallbearer in Oklahoma red and NO SOCKS…are you thinking the red is his neck, not his shirt?

But, we all survived…and no one even noticed his naked feet.

But, next time we travel he’s doing a dress-rehearsal first!!! Literally!!

4 Responses

  1. Great story, thanks!

  2. love that pic of the crab!

  3. My friend used to live here. Tons of great memories!

Leave a comment